“Little Shop of Horrors”

Over the last couple of weeks, the biggest celebrity in Houston has been Lois, a Amorphophallus titanum, more commonly known as a Corpse Flower. Corpse Flowers are known its smell, which is similar to pheromones that attract carrion beetles. Lois bloomed in the early morning hours last Friday (2010.07.23), about a week later than she was originally estimated to, but thanks to the Houston Museum of Natural Sciences‘ 24-hour Lois cam and keeping their doors open 24-7 until she wilted helped give everyone the chance to smell Lois.

My friend Lisa, from Peace Corps, is definitely my friend, who knows exactly how nerdy I am, she wrote me an e-mail when she returned from her vacation, asking if I had “seen” Lois yet, since she knew that this would be on my to-do list. On Sunday morning, we went to HMNS to see Lois, there was a bit of a line for 8:15, but the line moved pretty fast, so we didn’t have to wait too long to smell her. She wasn’t disappointing, but compared to the photos of other Corpse Flowers that I had seen on-line, she was a bit small (I say this even though she was taller than me at 5 ft. and some inches), not as open as up either. Her color was a deep eggplant color, really gorgeous. The smell that I was a mix of anticipating and intimidated by, was not as strong or as pungent as I had expected. Sadly, Lois collapsed later Sunday afternoon. Overall, it was fun and apparently there’s another Corpse Flower in HMNS’s greenhouse and Lois will bloom again.

Lois on Sunday morning

Leave a Reply

