Berryhill Baja Grill

In my efforts to reacquaint myself with Houston, I’ve been eating out at many different places after Mass. I know that I’ve mentioned it before but I don’t like fusion food, although I probably should qualify that by saying if the food is regionally close to each other, like Korean and Japanese, Korean and Chinese, Spanish and Moroccan, but when the fusion is say German and Japanese, Russian and Nigerian, etc. than I think that’s not that awesome on my awesome food scale.

Berryhill Baja Grill is a Baja-based fusion chain that was originally started on the backs of their tamales. However, I heard about it because Zagat’s national survey said it had the “best fish tacos ever.” It was a bit confusing when you enter there’s the bar on the right, but you actually order (and pay) at the cash register straight ahead, then take your seat. The chips and salsa are next to the self-serve drink machine, and they’re self-serve as well. The salsa is nice and fresh, but it doesn’t have too much spice. I ordered a famous fried fish taco and a grilled shrimp taco with a side of rice and black beans. (I’m pretty sure that I’ve mentioned that I somehow didn’t inherit the mayonnaise gene that all other Korean people inherited.) But I really liked the fish taco even with the mayo, although it was after I polished it off, that I found out where the salsa was. The grilled shrimp wasn’t grilled as much as pan-fried, so that was a bit of a disappointment.

The decor was a bit dim and not that much to write home about. In some ways it’s more of the local neighborhood hang-out, than a place that attracts people from all over the city. But overall, the food was wonderful and I’d go back.

one fried fish taco, one "grilled" shrimp taco, black beans, and rice...yum

a terrible close-up of my fish taco

Leave a Reply

