“God Bless the U.S.A.”

For a while, I always thought that the celebrations for the 4th of July at Miller Outdoor Theatre was the place to be and whenever I moved back to the States, Houston to be exact, that would be my tradition. So I moved back to the States and as July 4th came closer I remembered my plan to making it my “official” 4th of July spot. I mean free music from the Houston Symphony, cannons augmenting the Overture of 1812, and free fireworks, plus not too expensive concession stand food…all adding up to a winning combination.

I asked a couple of friends to go with me, because American holiday celebrations are meant to be shared with friends. Lisa, a friend from Peace Corps, was the only one who made it out, and we had fun catching up and enjoying everything Miller Outdoor Theatre had to offer. Of course, I’ve celebrated the holiday overseas with friends, but it’s not the same same as hearing the national anthem blaring, fireworks and classic and definitively American songs going as well.

Being that it was the 4th of July, what better to eat than absolutely terrible food…I greatly enjoyed my frito pie and root beer float!!! ^^To which Lisa commented that I’m definitely a Texas girl because I had chili on my frito pie, but that’s the only way to have a frito pie, everyone in Texas knows that. ^^

The Houston Symphony started off with a medley of American songs like Yankee Doodle Dandy” and many others nut their names actually escape me at the moment. Then came the national anthem, interestingly sitting by us was a group of Chinese-Taiwanese people and a Japanese family, all of the Americans stood up and started to sing along, those two groups looked around in confusion at the rest of us. Most of the songs, especially from the first half I didn’t recognize at all (Momma D says though they were probably from John Phillip Sousa), but the second half I definitely did recognize. The Texas Tenors, who were on America’s Got Talent apparently and even made it to the finals were also a part of the program, sang a piece of an opera (which sounds terrible but I have yet to hear an opera that moves me the way that a symphony or orchestra or a ballet does) and some other patriotic songs, my favorite being “Deep in the Heart of Texas.” Lisa laughed that when they sang “God Bless the U.S.A.” everyone cheered a bit when Texas and Houston were mentioned in the lyrics. There was a sweet salute to the men and women who had and are serving in the U.S. Armed Forces. And then the big finale for the Houston Symphony was the “Overture of 1812” ending with eight smallish cannons that made more than enough noise.

Sorry about the photos, I forgot my camera, so I used the camera in my iPhone, but they’re not as nice. Which also made me laugh because before the festivities, every five minutes they played a recorded message that cameras and cameras in your cellphones were not allowed, recordings, photo taking, etc are prohibited…however the Houston Symphony has a photo contest for pictures taken during the summer series at Miller Outdoor Theatre… Everyone’s on the same page as you can see.

One response to ““God Bless the U.S.A.”

  1. I loved The Texas Tenors!!! They were great! Actually not a huge opera fan myself either, but the three of them harmonized beautifully and I love the version of “God Bless The USA” that they did! Very heartfelt! You can tell that they’re the real deal!

Leave a Reply

