“Move”

I started my final week in Korea with the usual mind-numbing details…packing. As I’ve moved a couple of times in my life, I’ve decided without a doubt that I like unpacking, the whole process of seeing an empty space fill with my things and feel like a home, my home, what can I say I’m a nester. But I loathe, loathe packing, it’s depressing to see how much stuff I’ve accummulated in what the time period and for a week or so my home becomes nothing more than just an apartment, a very empty one at that.

So once I woke up after I got out of bed, I pushed my large suitcase full of books and a box of kitchen stuff down to the post office. Every since I had the lightbulb idea of putting my heavy books in my suitcase and wheeling it down to the post office, so that I don’t have to carry it and I don’t end up with huge bruised on my legs. It was a little tough to wheel about 36 kilos  (about 75 lbs.), partly because it was heavy and partly because I was afraid of the box full of kitchen plates falling off and smashing into millions of pieces making the box worthless. Tip: to be on the safe side when shipping boxes internationally, keep the weight under 20 kilos if you want the option of shipping via boat, otherwise you may only be able to ship by air, which is at least twice the price of the boat.

Then I took two bags and a table to my friend’s house taking advantage of the extension of line 3 to Ogeum station, but I was sitting on the wrong side of the bus so I completely missed the stop and it took longer that it should have to drop of the stuff.

In the middle of delivering the stuff, I had lunch with my two awesome co-teachers who will be 5th grade homeroom teachers in the upcoming 2010 academic year. Ji-hye will be the 5-9 homeroom teacher and Min-hui will be the 5-1 homeroom teacher. It was nice to see their excitement and hear some of their plans for the upcoming year.

P.S. I was bored this semester and I watched most of the episodes of an American TV show that will not be named, because there’s a bit of shame that I actually watched most of the episodes, but each episode is named after a song title, so I wanted to copy that because I thought that was cool. So for the foreseeable future I’m going to try to name the blog titles as either song titles or book titles.

4 responses to ““Move”

  1. i used to title my blog entries after song titles/lyrics. surprise, surprise, right? haha. 🙂

  2. LOL, I haven’t written in it in over a year. I really need to pick blogging back up. My old blog’s on xanga. Remember that?! I kept that one for several years. I’m not sure why I fell out of practice. I opened an account on tumblr, but I’ve yet to make an entry. I really should. I think it helps me mentally/emotionally, even if no one else takes the time to read it. I haven’t written in over a year, and the past year’s been super-hard. I’ll get on that…

  3. I didn’t even know that you had an old one on xanga, I just knew about the one on tumblr. I’ll read it. Bloggings been really helpful this year for me to just put my experiences and thoughts down, I don’t know why I never did it before.

    I’ll call you probably Monday ish, maybe I’ll have a phone by then too… 🙂

Leave a Reply

