Feminism, Really?

I find the evolution of feminism interesting, but in a bad way, feminism, at least in the United States went from legally  protecting a women’s right to vote, freedom of employment, freedom to live her life, in other words if a women wanted to stay home with her children, great, and if she wanted to join the nine-to-five workforce, great, regardless it’s her choice and both are equally equal.

Now feminism is about being able to do whatever a man can do, from cigars to multiple “relationships” to whatever she wants, “like” a man. Being a homemaker, wanting to have children, wanting to be married is not trying to be equal or following your dreams, but “setting the movement back.” Movement? This is a movement?

All of the hoopla surround Tim Tebow and his mother’s upcoming Super Bowl commercial supporting her pro-life choice to not abort Tim is sad. As  Sally Jenkins of the Washington Post (Washington Times) points out, pro-choice as far as the critics go is more pro-abortion.

I thought the word ‘choice’ meant more than one option. Now I am firmly in the pro-life boat, partly because I’m Catholic and partly because statistically I could have been just another statistic of an aborted Korean girl.

Something that many people don’t really know is that during the 1970s and 80s, the Republic of Korea (ROK or South Korea) had a one-baby policy like China does at the moment, add that to the Confucian need for a male heir to carry on the family name, an unbelievable number of baby girls were aborted.  (Now it is illegal for a doctor to tell expecting children the sex of their unborn child.) I’m not saying that my parents or extended family didn’t want me, there’s plenty of evidence that they did, my father caring for me until he died, my father registering me on the family registry, my extended family trying to figure out how to keep me with them, but it most likely wasn’t the most ideal time to have a child, especially for a poor couple with a large age gap.

I used to wonder what was the purpose for me, but now when I get e-mails from old students telling me that they remember me years later, that the world ‘goober’ is firmly entrenched in their vocabularies now, I see that I’ve impacted their lives, that I’ve made a difference.

Today I received an e-mail from one of my fourth graders at Singa Elementary School, Eun Yeong, she is the quietest little girl that I have ever known in my life. She’s a million times quieter than I was at her age. Last semester she was yelling hello to me in English and I never would have known if I hadn’t been standing next to her, it’s the same when she speaks in Korean. Whenever she talks, I literally have to put my ear next to her mouth so that I can hear her. I was shocked and surprised that she e-mailed me, of all the students at Singa that have my e-mail, I would have never guess that she would e-mail me. I want, I’d like to think that it was me that she opened up to, not that as long as it was an native English teacher she would have opened up the same, but that’s also my ego speaking as well.

So much of the arguments for the freedom (it’s a freedom, not a right in my book) of choice, whether it relates to abortion, who you can vote for in an election, who you fall in love with, who you marry, what religion you chose to follow, etc. is that you should have the ability to have all the facts and options and weigh which one is the best for yourself, so isn’t that what the Tebow ad is? Another side of the argument that some people may not have thought about before? That had Pam Tebow aborted the child that the doctors warned could be a dangerous pregnancy for her, Tim Tebow would never have been born, the thousands (I’m conservatively guessing) people that have been touched by his testimonials, would never had heard any of his words.

If you want the freedom of choice, you have to open and nicely allow others the same ability to talk about their stance. But that’s just my opinion.

One response to “Feminism, Really?

  1. Pingback: Feminism, really? « Rubber Tyres –> Smooth Rides

Leave a Reply

