And I Thought I Liked Fish

I thought that I liked fish before I came back to Korea, but while I’ve been here, I’ve come to realize that I like the western definition of fish.

Winter Camp, which is lovingly titled, ‘Karen’s English Camp’, at Singa Elementary School started today and of course as is Korean tradition, the after the first day of camp, the teachers, the supervisor, the vice principal(s), and the principals went out for a meal.

We went to a random greasy (queasy) spoon near school that specializes in fish soups. And since I am the English teacher I got to share the principal’s favorite soup with him and my co-teacher Min-hui.

fish stomach (with a few brains tossed in) soup

To be honest, it’s one of the worst prepared and one of the worst tasting dishes I have ever had in my life. The first part of the problem I think is that soon after they caught the fish, they killed it, instead of letting everything cycle through its stomach before killing them. Then they overcooked the fish to the degree that the flesh was just mush. That one thing that I thoroughly dislike about Korean soups is that they overboil the soups until the vegetables become nothing more than mush. Also, there were the stomachs and brains everywhere you look in the pot. And of course the principal kept on putting ladle after ladle in my bowl. I hope that I never have to eat that soup ever again in my life, much like the Winter Solstice porridge.

One response to “And I Thought I Liked Fish

  1. Pingback: Good-bye and Good Year « Life’s Important Question: F.O.B.

Leave a Reply

