Manners, please

In the age of the Internet, cell phones, and other means of non-face-to-face communication it’s easy to forget how to interact with real live human beings in person or even through inpersonal ways, especially ones that you don’t really know.

Since I’ve started blogging I’ve received several comments to be approved, believe it or not, mostly from strangers and not from my three loyal readers. ^^ And as wordpress.com is quick to point out, it has “protected” me from 125 spam comments, because you know that spam is as dangerous as anything out there, so you need protection from it. But there are two comments that stand out, that I have not and will not approve, simply because they’re just plain rude. I don’t know either of these people and their comments were unnecessary. The old saying, “if you have nothing to say, don’t say anything¬†at all” should be used when commenting on strangers’ blogs.

(1) No where in my blog or in my personal comments will you ever find anything that says that I support President Obama or his many agendas. BUT I do give him the respect that he is owed as the President of the United States, the very country that I call home and that I carry its passport. And I strongly do not support abortion, so no one has the right to post a nasty comment about me not having the right to call myself a Catholic. Please read what I write carefully before writing something so completely uniformed.

(2) I’ve never claimed to be the best translator in any language that I speak. I tend to understand but am not really able to explain the concept in another language. If you don’t like the way that I romanize Korean words or translate anything, you can politely correct me, ‘I read your translation/synopsis about…and I think it would better to say…’ is quite reasonable in my book. But a comment that goes, ‘Actually that’s not what it’s about at all, it’s…’ doesn’t make me what to continue what you want to express. And especially if you are not exactly right, you don’t have to say anything to anyone.

On the other hand, or more correctly myself, I find it hard sometimes to have a conversation with certain people that I know, mostly because the bulk of our relationship has been through e-mail, that when I talk to them face-to-face I’m not really sure how to take their facial expressions, hand gestures, or any other non-verbal communication movements. And so it’s just awkward and very uncomfortable to say the least, which are two of my least favorite situational feelings in the world.

I also now find myself re-writing e-mails and/or extending comments because after I re-read them later in the day, Irealize how short, somewhat rude they are, etc. and obviously I want to correct that. I’m interested in how long it’ll take me to re-adapt to living in the South after being away for so long and only coming back for temporary visits. I’m also curious what behaviors, especially ones from Korea, that will be the hardest to shake or which ones I seem to have adopted in myself.

Leave a Reply

