Bright Star

I am not a poetry fan at all, it’s too shaded, too many allegories, and misdirections for me, which is pretty ironic considering how much I like science fiction and fantasy.

However when I was reading up on the latest movie reviews from Anne Hornday on the Washington Post website, there as an ad for Bright Star and for some unknown reason it caught my eye. Of course since it’s not a big Hollywood blockbuster, it pretty much isn’t going to come to Korea.

While I was goofing off on onclickvideos.com I saw that someone had posted Bright Star and I needed something happy to kinda get my mind off of the troubles that the halmonis are struggling through.

Written and directed by Jane Campion, it’s an understated all-around masterpiece. I’m not too familiar with any of her previous work, so I’m not sure if this movie is par for the course or something unique. Abbie Cornish is probably the most known actor attached to the movie; she was a curious mix of headstrong and vunerable, which should have been over the top but seemed appropriate especially when you’re in love with a poet, who doesn’t really have any prospects. Ben Whishaw, who I had never heard of until today, made me fall in love with John Keats (or at least his version), a romantic that also has a strong sense of reality. I really liked his reaction to his friend Brown sending a Valentine’s card/letter to Fanny. The photography of the film was breath-taking, every shot would make a beautiful photograph for your wall and the costuming was first rate.

The best exchange was when Fanny’s younger brother and sister go looking for Keats’ book in the local bookstore, the little sister tells the owner that ‘her sister’s met the author and wants to read to know if he’s an idiot or not.’

The only negative that I can find with the movie is the somewhat dependent quality that Fanny places on Keats’ affections, going as far as cutting herself when she hasn’t heard from him.

Since I really don’t read poety I have no clue really about any of his poetry, but the three poems, “Bright Star,” “The Eve of St. Agnes,” and “Ode to a Nightingale” were beautiful, even if I really didn’t understand them too well. ^^ So now a book of his poetry is on my neverending list of books to read.

One response to “Bright Star

  1. i am glad you also said you couldn’t really understand poetry, because now i don’t feel alone!! lol. even though i love naomi shihab nye, i unfortunately don’t read her poetry (she’s most famous for poetry) because i just don’t get it!

Leave a Reply

