A Christmas Carol

Since I couldn’t pick up my hanbok today, I decided to go see A Christmas Carol, the new one written and directed by Robert Zemeckis, which took a bit of a search, because I wanted to hear it in English and preferably see it in 3D. Success! I went to the the CGV at Yongsan and was able to get a decent seat on the side of the theater. As I stood in line I realized that it had been a long time since I actually sat in a movie theater and watched a movie.

During the pre-movie commercials, there was a mind-numbing trend of playing the same commercial twice in a row, but the best moment was for Chocoballs, a cereal made of chocolate balls (!!!), the commercial featured some cute little cartoon character sing a song, with the lyrics at the bottom karoake style and the little boy behind me was singing along.

I didn’t like The Polar Express, because the characters were creepy life-like, not likeable like the Pixar human beings from Toy Story 1 and 2. Beowulf I liked more because he dialed it back and the characters were more cartoon-like.

I couldn’t really concentrate on the movie, because the characters were too creepy, and I wasn’t the only one, the number of kids crying in audience. It was okay, I still prefer the original Disney interpretation featuring Mickey Mouse and that cast of characters.

Oh and I saw a trailer for Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland, and that’s a movie that I’m definitely going to see in 3D!

Leave a Reply

