Christmas Cards

This morning, since I only have office hours today and because it’s now December 8th, I took the morning “off” (really meaning I didn’t do any work-related work) so that I could finish my Christmas card mailing outs and be able to take them to the post office after work today.

While I was filing them out and randomly checking my crap on fb, a status came up from my friend Michael:

From a buddy over in Iraq: “When sending out your Holiday cards, address one to: A Recovering American Soldier c/o Walter Reed Army Medical Center 6900 Georgia Avenue NW; Washington, D.C. 20307. If we pass this on, think of how many cards these wonderful special people would get. PASS THIS ON…. JUST COPY AND PASTE TO YOUR WALL!”

Which I thought was an awesome idea, luckily I had an extra Christmas card, to do this. I think that one of the worst ways to spend a holiday is sick/hurt in a hospital.

I know that I tend to march to a different beat, but it has always excited me more to receive a Christmas card, Easter card, birthday card, etc. in the mail than e-mailed to me, although I know that especially since I’ve been bopping around from country to country, it’s a bit harder to keep track of what address to send to me. And though everyone/anyone can send an e-mail (although I’ve gotten really bad at it), but to sit down and write a letter, address it, and post it, takes a lot more time, effort and thought, which makes me feel very loved. ^ ^

One response to “Christmas Cards

  1. I have all this beautiful stationary, pretty blank cards, all just waiting to be written in and sent to a loved one. Do I do it? No. I’m horrible.

    Your Christmas card was beautiful, by the way! Thank you so much! Jeannette was jealous of mine, hahaha. Her favorite is asian blossoms. I think her wedding’s gonna be chock-full of them.

Leave a Reply

