Clearing Up Confusion On My Plans

So out of shear laziness, I’m blogging the answers to several e-mails instead of mass e-mailing or individually e-mailing.

When my contract ends on February 28, 2010, I’m headed back to the States, Texas more specifically, Houston to be crystal clear. I’m in the process of applying to a teachers’ program to actually follow-through and get my certification, so that provided I pass everything, I’ll be certified and able to get a full-time teaching position in the upcoming academic year.

I’m not being forced out of Korea, it’s my decision (more accurately God’s decision) and my time to leave. If I wanted to I could find another job, in fact I had submitted my transfer paperwork for the Seoul public school system, and just had an interview to go through to get the stamp of approval. But I woke up one morning realizing that I had a choice that would in many ways determine the rest of my life.

During my time as an American expat, I’ve met many people who’ve all told me this horror story about one day they woke up and realized that they’re 40 years old, lived in the same country (usually in East Asia) for for the last ten or so years and really have nothing to show for their lives, not married, no children, no real friends, but a lot of souvenirs. And I’ve always vowed that was not going to happen to me, that I wasn’t going to get sucked into that stagnation. So yes, I could stay, especially, because life is easy, I don’t pay directly for my rent, someone else does that, I don’t pay directly for my health insurance, someone else does that, I don’t have to worry about taxes, I’m an American expat, etc. I could maybe stay another year and not get sucked into the easy life, but that’s such a slippery slope (bringing back the debater words 🙂  ).

But most I don’t want life to pass me by. A very high percent of people that I call friends are married, engaged, or courting. I have three nephews that I don’t recognize. And honestly, I’m not going to find my ideal guy in Korea. I want to leave Korea while I still have friendly feelings towards my homeland and culture, the last thing I want is to loathe where I came from, where my parents came from.

Yes, saving another large sum of money would be great, because America is expensive and the fact that I have to buy a new car is a definite financial burden, but money comes and money goes. I’m not going to take it with me when I die. I want to be happy in my life with fewer stresses than I have at the moment (backed up by the fact that yesterday I WOKE UP with a migraine).

I’m excited and impatient to begin my new chapter in my life in the States. I’ve really never looked forward to anything as much as I am to this new step in my life.

One response to “Clearing Up Confusion On My Plans

  1. Funnily enough, I’m moving into the city to get out of my system the experience of living in the city. If I get bored w/ that as well, there’s a pretty good chance I’m going to give San Diego a shot. At least, I’ll take a travel assignment out there for a few months to see how I like it. W/ J, L, & Roxy all engaged, I almost always feel like the odd woman out. And the thing is, I’m not ready to settle down yet. My mom will tell you the same thing. It just sucks not being on the same page as all your good friends, you know?

Leave a Reply

