Decline to Renew Letter

I had to write a formal letter explaining why I wasn’t resigning at Singa Elementary School, here it is.

2009.11.18

Dear Sir or Madam,

I would like to thank the Seoul Metropolitian Office of Education, the Gangdong School District, and Singa Elementary School for the opportunity to teach the wonderful third, fourth, fifth, and sixth grade students at Singa Elementary School in the Gangdong School District, as well as the chance to take part in the summer and winter district camps in Gangdong School District.

My first choice was to re-sign with Singa Elementary School, but when the school re-signed my co-teacher, who I have had continuous problems and stresses with as well as some safety concerns, there was no chance that I could stay here and teach the upcoming academic year at Singa Elementary School. I had signed the renewal papers thinking of transferring to another school, preferably in the Gangdong School District, but the more I thought about the fear, the pain, the anger, the hurt, etc. that I experienced this past year because of my co-teacher, the more I realized that it is in the best interest of the students, the school district, and myself that I decline to renew my contract and return to the States.

I really would have liked to have stayed and taught at least another year, but the fears of having another year like this past one, with physical, emotional, and mental harm being caused to me by my co-teacher, is unbearable. I could not be able to be the kind of teacher that I am, that I want be, even with a new school, because I would always be afraid that someone at my new school meant to harm me the same way as my current co-teacher has done this past year. Which is simply not how a teacher should feel or act, fearful or expecting the worst to happen, around the students or co-workers, because it only creates a negative and inhospitable environment, doing more harm than good for everyone.

Thank you again for all the chances and the opportunities that I have had this past year and I hope that next year will wonderful and full of happiness and excitement.

Sincerely,

Karen Spooner

Native Speaking English Teacher

Singa Elementary School, 2009

3 responses to “Decline to Renew Letter

  1. Keeping my fingers crossed something fabulous works out for you. You just have a couple more months, right?

  2. I’m glad you’re not going to be subjected to another year with the K-double-Y. There are much better things out there for you, Karen!

  3. The letter wasn’t too snarky or rude, right?

    I have 18 more teaching days with KYY and 32 total teaching days at Singa and then it’s on with the next phase of my life! It’s getting more and more exciting as I get closer to the end of my contract.

Leave a Reply

