Open Class

In Korea, or at least the public school there’s this thing that all teachers have to do, have an open class. It’s basically where the principal, vice-principals, and any interested teachers that have off that particular period can come observe your class and later tell you what they saw, what they liked, what they feel you can improve, etc.

Being observed by the higher-ups doesn’t make me nervous, especially since the principal’s seen me wrestle for class control with KYY, but having the other teachers come to observe my class made me a bit nervous.

Of course only one person came as class started, so we began class without the majority of the observers, they eventually trickle in, and the kids during the survey activity decide that they should survey the guests about what activities they can do.

As the higher-ups were leaving, they all made a point to tell me that the lesson was fantastic, amazing, excellent, one of the best they’ve seen, etc. Then they sent the English department head to come talk to me, the principal w as so impressed with my open class, that if I agee to stay at Singa, he’ll move KYY against her wishes to be a homeroom teacher, so that I’ll only have to deal with her once a week instead of three times a week. Oh and I was informed by Jon at SMOE that the principal has/had the power to accept or deny a teacher, so the story from last Friday that the district was forcing KYY on Singa Elementary, even though the school doesn’t want her.

At the post-observation, where all the teachers who were observed this week, the first-year teachers and their mentors some of the bojangnims, and the principal and vice-principals. They went around the room asking the teachers to talk about their classes, what they did, what was good, what was bad, etc. and then the higher-ups gave tips and pointers (which were actually good, not nitpicking on the font choosen, but less confusing worksheets, clear objectives, etc.). At the end the principal decided that they needed to single me out, awesome fun that was, after I talked about my class, they talked about how much they loved my class, then they had the teachers who observed my class speak. One of the third grade teachers, talked about how I’m always on time, I always have things that aren’t from the books, I make time for the students (even during the break times), and whenever she comes inside my class, she sees that I make an effort to have a warm, learning environment for the students. One of the fifth grade teachers talked about I’m always on time, the students love me, I always encourage the students to speak English (even when they know barely any English).

Leave a Reply

