Moscow, Day 6

playful bears...beautiful Russia...who can resist...definitely not me :D

playful bears...beautiful Russia...who can resist...definitely not me 😀

2009.08.08

a sign on the way to the market

a sign on the way to the market

Margot and I headed over to the Izmaylovo Market, it’s this huge, mostly outdoor, traditional and non-traditional craft market. Margot wanted to get things for her holiday trip back home and I honestly wanted things for me. You have to pay 15 rubles to get in, 50 cents entrance fee to look around, sold! Once you get to the main part, it’s rows and rows of unbelievable items. Matrushka dolls, lacquer boxes, hand carved angels, icons, soviet drinking cups, fur caps, china sets, DVDs, etc.

Izmaylovo Market entrance...Disneyland for Russian crafts

Izmaylovo Market entrance...Disneyland for Russian crafts

I bought a non-traditional/modern matrushka doll:

non-traditional matrushka doll

non-traditional matrushka doll

an icon (that’s Mary and Jesus in the center, a bunch of angels, and the symbols of the four Gospels), 

my icon

my icon

a DVD, Admiral, and an extremely traditional matrushka doll.

 

How could I not stop and buy them?

How could I not stop and buy them?

After spending a lot of money, we headed back to Margot’s to put down all our purchases and to go have lunch at Moo Moo’s, a sit-down, cafeteria-style Russian food chain.

Ice Sculpture Gallery

Ice Sculpture Gallery

After Moo Moo’s we wondered around looking for the Ice Sculpture Gallery foolishly armed with only a not so awesome Lonely Planet map and Margot’s knowledge of Moscow and ability to read and speak Russian. About an hour later, not the three that Margot keeps on telling people although at times it did feel like it, and after asking the conceirge at the expensive American chain hotel, and after climbing over a wall that was short enough to climb and high enough to climb, we finally found it. As I’m sure that you figured out by the crooked, not that artistic pictures, I’ve never taken a photography class in my life, this is all pure point and click untalent. And it’s never been more clear than when you look at my photos from the Ice Sculpture Gallery.

all dolled up and no place to go other than a freezer

all dolled up and no place to go other than a freezer

For some unknown reason we got a discount, so it was only 700 rubles for the both of us, we took it obviously. When you buy a ticket, you get a long fleece jacket and fleece booties to protect your feet. I looked amazing.

one of the many cool ice scupltures

one of the many cool ice scupltures

Logically I knew that we were going to the ice sculpture, but it never really clicked how cold it was going to be until I went inside…it was the coldest I have ever been in my life, even with the extra fleece. Afterwards we went to some random cafe that had South American style hot chocolate, liquid chocolate gold, just the thing that we need after literally being inside a freezer, a freezer filled with beautiful ice sculptures, but really a freezer.

I don't think that I've really mentioned how much I love hot chocolate anywhere on this blog have I??? ;)

I don't think that I've really mentioned how much I love hot chocolate anywhere on this blog have I??? 😉

Then we went to meet up with more of Margot’s friends to take the scenic ride down the Moscow River. The best quote was when everyone else was deciding when to get off the boat, Margot made a comment like, ‘Hey, I have a tourist here!’

our river taxi

our river taxi

And then it was off to Mama Zoya’s for a delicious Georgian dinner.

Mama Zoya's

Mama Zoya's

2 responses to “Moscow, Day 6

  1. gotta love that little coat you had to wear!! hehe- you look so cute =) btw, great pictures!!!

  2. baikeunsook

    Renee, are you back yet? Isn’t the outfit amazing…jealous aren’t you? But I think that the curtesy is what made the picture. 😉 Thanks for the white lie, but even my terrible click and shoot ability couldn’t really screw up the undeniable beauty of Russia.

Leave a Reply

