Teremok

When you’re in Russia, of course you have to have blinis of some sort, right? So after walking around the Arbat and seeing some of the sights, my friend, Margot took me to Teremok, it’s a well-known blinis chain in Russia. In Korea, even the savory crepes are very sweet to me, so I was looking forward to actual savory blinis/crepes.

this isn't the Teremok that we went to but if you ever need to know what they look like...

this isn't the Teremok that we went to but if you ever need to know what they look like...

It was amazing to watch the guys in the open kitchen make these huge blinis, I didn’t care how touristy I looked, but I wanted at least a photo of them making one.

spreading out the batter to make the blini

spreading out the batter to make the blini

And as luck would have it, I caught one of the guys making one of our blinis.

adding the stuffing for Bananas Forester

adding the stuffing for Bananas Forester

I had to laugh to myself, my friend and I ordered two blinis each, but the woman at the cash register thought there actually four people, so she made sure to give us enough cups and utensils for four people. Nope, I’m just that big of a pig.

I had a cheese and mushroom blini and a red caviar blini. I figured that I while I was in Russia, I should eat as much Russian stuff as possible. I’ve seen red caviar, but I’ve never tried it, so why not try it, it was wasn’t too ridiculously expensive, about $15. It was good, I mean I like roe and caviar, but it was so salty, I think that I ate my salt quota for the rest of my stay in Russia, that’s how salty it was.

My lunch. All of it's for me and only me. Seriously I ate 95% of it, but the high sodium got to me after a while.

My lunch. All of it's for me and only me. Seriously I ate 95% of it, but the high sodium got to me after a while.

And for my drink, I tried Mors, a Russian berry drink. It was surprisingly not as sweet as I expected it to be, which meant I liked it even more. It wasn’t the most fruity juice drink ever, but it was an enjoyable alternative to cokes and tea.

One response to “Teremok

  1. Pingback: Moscow, Day 5 « Life’s Important Question: F.O.B.

Leave a Reply

