Lehaim, Day 3

After two trys to eat or find a place to eat at two different restaurants, I finally hit payday on the third one, Lehaim. It’s locatted behind the only (?) synogogue, Grand Choral Synagogue. From the outside, it’s not too spectacular but inside it’s beautiful.

Lehaim

Lehaim

I heard of the restaurant because after they pay their bills, the rest of their profit goes to the elderly and the needy. As a member of Generation X/Generation Y (depending on your definition) I have very little possibility of getting any of the money that I’ve put into Social Security thanks to the other departments in the US government. But I have a better chance of getting some of that money back than anyone in Russia getting any kind of pension that’s worth something.  So I felt that Lehaim had a great idea and as a Catholic I need to support it.

the inside of Lehaim

the inside of Lehaim

After some debating and difficult translated consultation with my waiter, I decided on latkes – potato pancakes served with mushroom sauce –

Latkes

Latkes

and golubtsy – beef and rice wrapped in cabbage leaves – a specialty of the restaurant.

golubtsy

golubtsy

And the bread that came with the meal was very similar to sour dough, which I haven’t had in years and I ate almost every single slice, yum!

sour dough bread

sour dough bread

One response to “Lehaim, Day 3

  1. Pingback: St. Petersburg, Day 3 « Life’s Important Question: F.O.B.

Leave a Reply

