And I’m a Kid Again

Today is the last day of the semester, right before summer vacation…and I think that I’m more excited than my kids. For my sixth graders, the last chapter we studied together, was about summer activities and I had to remind them that in two weeks, it would be summer vacation. ??? As much as I loved school (really all day access to a library) summer vacation was exciting, because I could bug Maggie to take me to the city library, which sooo many more books to choose from (and I was rewarded for all the bugs that I read thanks to the summer reading program).

I can understand a little bit why my kids aren’t too excited, the following two weeks, I have to wake up an hour earlier than I normally do to go to another school to teach at summer camp. And when I come back from Russia, I have to wake up at least an hour and half earlier to go teach at a different summer camp. I’m all for summer enrichment activities, but do they have to be soo early?

Countdown to Russia: 16 days.

Leave a Reply

