Random stuff

I have a lot of little things to comment on, so I’m going to lump them into one blog. WARNING everything will be random.

  • Last summer it was the thing for women to wear the Darth Vader visor to protect themselves from the sun. This summer it’s a parasol and it’s funny to  see older Korean women with plastic shoes, sweatpants, and their lacy parasol.
  • If you have some money that you would like to donate to a worthy cause, go to Donors Choose, it’s a website that lets you pick a school in the States that needs help to help their students.
  • I have had to ducktape (thanks Jeannette) these weird, random holes in my window frames to keep the baby mosquitoes out. And I’ve caved and bought some bug spray.
  • New York Hotdog and Coffee has 100% beef hot dogs!!!
  • Irish Potato has really good dips for their fries, but don’t try the samples, I stood by the counter for about 10 minutes and everyone double dipped at least 3 times.
  • If it wasn’t for Femi’s Facebook statuses, I wouldn’t know what was happening in American sports most of the time.
  • I went to a teacher training, even though I have a ridiculous number of lesson plans for summer camp (7), worksheets for summer camp (6), 2 stories to find, and this doesn’t include what I need to do for my actual job.
  • Any time that I would want to leave early on Wednesday, I have a teacher training to go to. There may be a conspiracy against me leaving early legally. 😦
  • Usually theaters in Korea don’t release the week’s schedule until Wednesday, the day before new movies are released here in Korea. So I checked on Monday, and most of the showing for Transformers were sold-out, or close to it. We got tickets, they’re not the greatest seats, but we have seats for the real IMAX. So I’m happy.
  • I’m a goober and finally figured out what these annoying comment with quotes from my blogs really are…someone’s read my blog and linked one of my blogs to one of their blogs.
  • I went to  a teacher training today and really think that my Korean co-teachers would have better benefited from attending, because it was about showcasing Munjeong Elementary School as a SMILE (Seoul Metropolitionsomething that starts with an I Learning English) school and how with the demand of the current president, they would like every school in the district to be a SMILE school.
  • My 6th grade co-teacher wouldn’t trade me for the NSET we saw at the training today.
  • My head hurt after an hour of listening to why SMILE schools are amazing and the schools to tomorrow.
  • I only have two and a half more weeks of teaching my 4th and 6th graders. I’m going to miss them.
  • Is it bad that I looked at the calendar today and realized that I have five and a half more weeks until Russia?
  • One of the shyest girls in the 6th grade came up to me and told me that this year she likes English…if nothing else, I’ve helped to accomplish this positive feeling!!!!
  • I think that every student at Singa Elementary School thinks it’s funny to run up to me to say hello and then run away if they’re not one of my 4th or 6th graders.
  • I’m currently in a French movie thing, three of the last four movies (Un baiser, s’il vous plait, Le silence de Lorna, Entre les murs, and Blood) that I’ve seen have been in French.
  • I’ve decided that Criminal Minds scares me a bit and yet I still watch because I want the criminals to be caught and the world righted…yep I grew up on Disney films, Transformers, and G.I. Joe.
  • Sometime, I’ll need to post what google (etc.) searches that people type and are directed to my blog, it’s interesting to say the least.
  • I received a comment (which I did not post) by someone who read my blog about Once Upon a Quinceaneraand somehow got the mistaken impression that I support Obama, abortion, and gay rights. I’m a registered Christian conservative Republican that lives in Texas, Houston, Texas to be exact.
  • At the Teacher training, there was this chilled raspberry tea with little stars made from Korean pears and Danish cookies (I can’t remember when was the last time that I had some). We (my supervisor, my 6th grade co-teacher, and me) were told to be there no later than 1:30, so we rushed and when we got there, we were told that actually everything doesn’t start until 2pm. So we sat in a tiny, crowded room until it was time to go watch the open classes. Fun stuff.

 

Yes, those are little stars made out of Korean pears.
Yes, those are little stars made out of Korean pears.
One response to “Random stuff

  1. 1) That picture is adorable. That must have been so fun to drink. I want little stars in all my beverages now.
    2) One of my favorite French movies is Jeux d’Enfants (the English title is Love Me If You Dare), but pretty much only because I think it’s beautifully shot. And Marion Cotillard is beautiful.
    3) I wonder how in the WORLD someone would come up w/ the notion that you’re pro-Obama, abortion, & gay rights. Why does everyone assumer that because we’re young, we have no morals? I mean, that’s a sweeping generalization, I’m aware, but my goodness.

Leave a Reply

