Marrakesh Nights

Last night, two of my friends and I went to Marrakesh Nights, a Moroccan restaurant in Itaewon. Marrakesh Nights is owned and run by Rhiti Mostafa, a former chef for the Moroccan embassy here in South Korea, and his family. As soon as you walk into the restaurant, you see a photo portrait of the former King Hassan II and the current King Mohammed VI, various world flags draped from the ceiling, and even traditional glass lanterns from Morocco.

Moroccan Lantern

Moroccan Lantern

I didn’t know that there was only buffet available, but thanks to my rusty Darija, we were able to order a chicken tajine and lamb couscous off the menu. I was going to take a picture of the food, but when it and our salad arrived at our table, we were too hungry to wait and just dugged into the absolutely delicious food.

I actually was a bit aprehensive to eat at Marrakesh Nights, because I found more negative reviews on-line than positive. But to be fair, the negative reviews focused more on the Middle Eastern cuisine, than the traditional Moroccan food and I really didn’t think that too many of the reviewers were not too familiar with Moroccan food.

Once the food was set in front of us, everything tasted like I remembered from the years that I lived in Morocco, except that there wasn’t any l-ben or buttermilk to drink with the couscous or traditional oven bread to eat the tajine with, but we still enjoyed every bit.

Moroccan Mint Tea

Moroccan Mint Tea

After we finished our meal, we had some traditional atay b naenae, Moroccan mint tea, which we were thankfully able to sugar ourselves, so we didn’t have too much sugar in our tea. All in all it was a delicious meal, I will definitely be going back for some yummy food.

2 responses to “Marrakesh Nights

  1. All I can say is, “Yum!”

  2. Lamb couscous sounds ridiculously delicious. And the decor is SO PRETTY!

Leave a Reply

