Impatience…

We’re such an impatient culture, we want everything now or even better yesterday, and we’re not always willing to work for the end goal.

Bookstores are failing because people aren’t reading as much any more, because they’re not as entertaining. But this isn’t just affecting books, but movies and books and life in general. I read an article in the Houston Chronicle (sorry, I can’t find the article to link it) a couple of months about how Hollywood is turning away from dramas, or at least the subtle, thought-provoking ones, to shorter, more eye-catching, action movies, because they’re the only types of movies that are attracting any moviegoers at all.

When I see some of these reality TV shows, like the Hills, it seems to me to be the definition of the cause/problem/result of today’s impatience. The cast members are barely 25 years old and have huge houses, drive nice cars and apparently unlimited credit cards. As well as having jobs that they are underwhelming unqualified for. Although MTV shows their lives as all about glitz, glamour, and utter easiness, that can only be detrimental to young impressionable minds. So I can see how people, particularly younger ones, around the world, are offered credit cards with instant approval and spend beyond not only their credit limits but their salary, can be affected by “role models” like the ones on the Hills.

One of the main reasons that I bring this up, is that the networks recently released their upcoming fall schedules and one thing that caught my eye was that one of the shows, Sit Down, Shut Up, that was canceled after only showed for four episodes. It used to be that networks allowed television shows to grow and find their strides, but now the networks are looking for the instant hits and money-makers and not waiting for the show to grow an audience.

3 responses to “Impatience…

  1. A friend of mine posted this on my blog:
    http://www.ted.com/index.php/talks/joachim_de_posada_says_don_t_eat_the_marshmallow_yet.html

    I think it’s very relevant to your entry.

    I’m a huge proponent of learning how to wait… especially if there is more to gain if you delay your gratification. Consumer culture as we know it is the opposite of this – “you want this and therefore must buy it now – waste no time.”

    What ever happened to waiting until Christmas morning to open presents? Most kids in the states I know don’t have such rules or traditions at home any more. It was such a huge part of my life… and even though it seems like such little things, I learned a lot from them.

  2. I very much agree with what you have to say here. I’ve noticed a lot of the things you were talking about, I’ve even written a post about one in particular, but I’d never really thought of impatience as being the overall reason behind this. Thanks for the new perspective.

  3. Amen, but you already knew I’d say that. Makes me SO GLAD that the girls & I don’t usually watch TV. Or go to the movies, for that matter. Jeannette & I pretty much only rent the weird, quirky, indie ones, anyway, haha. And we make up our own commentary. GI Joe’s supposed to come out today, but I don’t think I’m going to shell out to see it. I’d much rather just go see 500 Days of Summer again, even if it was a tad too saccharine.

Leave a Reply

