Latin Mass

Yesterday afternoon, my friend texted me about if I was interested in going to a Trinitium Mass and after a nano-second of thought I said yes. Although it probably was a bit a later because I don’t notice my phone going off. I’ve decided to say yes whenever Church is involved, because the worst/least that can happen, is that I get extra blessings.

It was interesting because the visiting priest was Austrian (or possibly German, but I’m leaning towards Austrian because of some of his mannerisms) and had a thick German accent on his Latin.

I was lost and confused because it’s a different Mass – the original style mass, the priest has his back towards us, the Mass is in Latin, and there wasn’t anything that tell us when we’re supposed to do what and when. Actually no one really did. I’ve been to Latin Masses before. I know Pater Noster (Our Father) but it was a while before I realized that we were supposed to be saying Pater Noster. And the flashes from the various cameras were a bit distracting, too.

My friend told me a joke that when his friend went to a Trinitium Mass, he said that he felt like a Protestant at a Catholic Mass, not knowing when to stand, sit, kneel, etc. And I definitely know that feeling. It was also funny to be “trend-setters” my friend’s been to several Trinitium Masses, so he knew what to do and when to do it. His girlfriend and I followed his lead and the older ladies around us followed our lead.

On the way out, we overheard an older lady say that it was nice to see some many younger people at a Latin Mass. I thought that it was more impressive that there were some many non Korean Catholics there. 

But regardless, it was really nice experience mainly because of the peace and quiet that makes it so easy to meditate and think about what’s going on in my life.

2 responses to “Latin Mass

  1. Hey! Just got your email!

    This Mass, by the way, is called the Tridentine Mass, not the Trinitium mass 😉

  2. baikeunsook

    I got the first three letters right and a couple others right. Thanks for the spelling help 🙂

Leave a Reply

