It’s hard to be from the “future”…

It’s hard to be from the “future” because movies (big studio blockbusters or at least the ones that have been projected to be ones) tend to open in Korea about two days before they open in the States (Central Standard Time).

The best part about a movie is talking about it with friends, especially with the big summer movies starting to open now, but I have to keep my mouth shut until it finally opens in the States and Europe to talk about it. 😦

The other thing that I don’t like is that not all movies open abroad, mainly the big blockbusters, the Academy award contenders, ones starring A-listers, or ones that didn’t do well in the States and the studio wants to make some money. So I’ve seen movies that I would never watch in the States because I wanted to see and hear something in English and that was the only thing available.

If you haven’t seen X-Men Origins: Wolverine or Star Trekand don’t want any spoilers, skip the last part of this blog entry…

I grew up reading X-Men comics and watching the cartoon series on Fox, so it’s a little hard for me to watch the live-action movies because I spend a good part of the movie silent critiquing how this is wrong or that never happened, etc. And it does ruin the movie watching experience for me because I get upset about how some character was completely misrepresented, like Deadpool in X-Men Origins: Wolverine. Deadpool, in the comics, is presented as a wise-cracking anti-hero that dangerously walks the gray line between right and wrong, moral and immoral, truth and lies, etc. Technically, he could be called a cancer survivor thanks to Weapon X’s help, but he was never recreated into a melded conglomeration of superhero powers or had his mouth surgically shut. Ryan Reynolds was the perfect actor to be casted as Deadpool, a sarcastic, witty actor but at the same time has the build that is believable enough you believe that he can pull off the stunts. I do hope in  the upcoming Deadpool movie that he breaks the fourth wall like he does in the comics.

Agent Zero, I really don’t know too much about him, but since Daniel Henney portrayed him, a large part of the marketing campaign here in Korea focused around him and Hugh Jackman. If you really didn’t know anything about X-Men, you would have thought that he was a major player in the X-Men universe.

Gambit, is one of my favorite characters, I heard that he was supposed to be in X3, and that was a bit exciting but at the same time the actors that were rumoured to be in line to play him, I really could see them as Gambit. Gambit, is far more the ultimate bad boy, especially if you’ve read the comics, the Marauders arc, his stint with the Thieves Guild, etc., but then you see him redeem himself with his time with the X-Men and his mostly self-less relationship with Rogue. Taylor Kitsh (Tim Riggins from Friday Night Lights) is a better Gambit that I thought, but I wish that they had dressed him closer to the comics and that his eyes were red instead of flashing red when he used his powers. But I do have to say that the special effects for his kinetic energy blasts were cool, especially when he brought the stick down to break up Sabretooth and Wolverine. And you have to feel a little sorry for Taylor, it seems like every job he gets he has to have an accent that is very different from his Canadian accent, in The Covenant, he was from a rich Northeastern family; in Friday Night Lights, he’s from a small town in Texas, and in X-Men Origins: Wolverine, he’s Cajun.

The only other thing that I have to complain about is that it was a bit heavy on the romance, but then again, how else are you going to get girlfriends to watch a 90-minute movie based on a comic book anti-hero, besides Hugh Jackman without his clothes on?

On the other hand, I’m not that big of a Star Trek fan and I really haven’t been able to sit through an entire original Star Trek movie or even an episode, so I didn’t have too much bias going in to the theater. And it blew away even my highest expectations. It was funny, and yes sadly I was the weird kyopo who was laughing and none of the Koreans understood the humor. And the twist to have the original Spock come back and mess up time and create an alternate universe to explain why the future movies won’t match the originals is genius in my opinion. Because although I really like the reboot of the Batman series, the contradictions between the original series of movies and the new ones are a bit much for me, most notably with the Joker.

Next up:

  • Terminator: Salvation
  • Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen
  • G.I. Joe
  • Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince
Leave a Reply

